The Ozark Trail: A Guide to Hiking Missouri’s Mountains

For the second overnight hike in which I used the pack, I left the hammock at home and stuffed an REI Stratus insulated pad and lightweight bivy inside. I was a little concerned with how the straps would distribute weight. Prior to taking it out on the trail, I did give it two coats of silicone spray so that it would shed water. Packing-wise, I chose to line it with a garbage disposal liner.

There is value to be gained from studying design, and I want to add my own take on why studying design is an important complement to hands-on experience. This article presents an idea that has high influenced my way of thinking about design. The article is centered on ideation and focuses primarily on how to do it well. It introduces the concept of design space, design exploration, and the trade off curve. Get Backpacking Light news, updates, gear info, skills, and commentary delivered into your inbox 1-2x/week. Visit our Trail Directory for an overview of the sections.

Exploring Missouri’s scenic Ozark backcountry is one of the best reasons to head out on the trail. The Ozark Trail Association marks and improves the trail and ensures backpacking campsites are well maintained. What’s more, the OT offers many things to see and experience for both seasoned and first-time backpackers. Ultimately, the good ozark trail canopy design for this product was that it was sized right for what I needed, both in dimensions and weight. Not too small, but not too large (and thus wasteful) – a Goldilocks design. After all, I had to be sensitive to weight as we were required to carry our own water for 10 miles as there were no options for filtering during that stretch.

Has a hip belt to displace the load off your shoulders. Includes a place to connect your hydration bladder. Before purchasing this pack I used a more traditionally styled, and heavier, backpack for daily walks. I recently attended a seminar that explained the major difference of carrying lighter gear while outdoors.

Many higher quality tents could cost 3 or 4 times that amount. Usually I share a 2- or 3-person tent when backpacking with others to split up the weight, but as mentioned we each needed to be self-contained so I brought my 1-person tent from Ozark Trail. Here’s another AWESOME thing about the Ozark Trail Atka day pack.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started